What’s Under The Hood?

woodstocks

 

 

I’m not really an artist by profession. . . more like clumsy carpenter 🙂
So when I was tasked to do a mural by a fellow member, I was very thankful for him gambling on me yet quite hesitant at first.
But what the heck! Life is full of surprising challenges anyway so I took a shot at it.

I hit a blank wall during those first nights of conceptualization.
Much like an artist staring into a blank canvas, I was staring into my blank PC screen.
I tried to squeeze out every creative juice I could foster – but no go!
All I could squeeze out was a migraine.
So I decided to clean my Sui AU111 instead.
Midway into brushing/wiping the tranny, a sudden whiff of inspiration dawned on me.

The drawings took a few weeks and several ping pong emails with the client prior to final approval.
The actual construction took a bit more time.

It’s finally done and we’re quite pleased and proud of the outcome.
Another heavy mother measuring almost 3 x 6 feet of 2-inch solid hardwood and steel fittings waiting to be hung in a brand new home.

 

Macky mural final
“The Naked Amp” (2014)

I could tell you that this mural can also act as a sound diffuser to bring out the warmth of your amp and speakers. . . but I’d be lying. . . but then again, who knows?
What I hope this brings out though is some smiles when visitors of the new home take a look at this carpenter’s first artistic endeavor. 🙂

 

 

 

For more Woodstocks:
https://bb3blog.wordpress.com/wood-stocks/

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “What’s Under The Hood?”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] We’ve all heard of a director’s chair. Woodstocks kicks it a notch higher with this director’s bed/headboard for a local film director.Two-inch thick planks form the bed frame. Upcycled floorboards for cross rails where the matress rests. Aside from pull out drawers underneath, nothing really special about this queen size bed.The headboard was a different matter, though. The client wanted something like (albeit simpler) the “Naked Amp” mural for his headboard. https://bb3blog.wordpress.com/20…/…/09/whats-under-the-hood/ […]



Leave a Reply

